Winning draws for the Millers on opening day

Ockbrook & Borrowash (9pts) 193-7 [46 overs] (M Bird 36, G Young 42, J Wharton 3-61) drew with Langley Mill Utd (18pts) 278-7 [46 overs] (A Tullett 49, J Salmons 112, J Scott 82, G Young 3-66)

BOTH Langley Mill teams started the new season in satisfying style with winning draws on Saturday.

The first team comfortably held Ockbrook and Borrowash seconds at Victoria Avenue while the seconds did a similar job at home to neighbours Shipley Hall seconds.

At Ockbrook, first team skipper Andrew Bailey won the toss and elected to bat first on a sunny, but blustery day. The Millers started badly losing Paul Bailey for a duck with only 13 on the board. Bailey was trapped leg before to Ockbrook skipper Gareth Young.

Aaron Tullett was then joined by Jamie Salmons and the pair took the score to 71 before Tullett was also out leg before, this time to Paul Burrow, one short of his fifty. On 99, Andrew Bailey was bowled by Burrow for a single, but Salmons was joined by Jack Scott and the two youngsters put on a magnificent 156 run partnership for the fourth wicket.

Salmons was first to depart, bowled by Young for an excellent 112, including 16 fours and two sixes.

Scott followed four runs later, caught by Chris Ball, off Joe Zydzienowski’s bowling, for an equally impressive 82 (10 fours and 2 sixes).

The Millers middle order threw their bats at everything in the final overs and lost David Farnsworth, bowled by Young for 2 and Jeff Wharton, caught by Young for 8 to give Zydzienowski his second wicket.

Grant Ball (3 not out) and Craig Parker (4 not out) saw the visitors through to an encouraging 278 for 7 off their 46 overs.

For the hosts, Young’s three came at a cost of 66, Burrow returned figures of 2 for 22 and Zydzienowski was expensive, his two coming at a cost of 67 runs.

Ockbrook’s reply started badly when they lost Matthew Wood, caught by Salmons off Scott from the second ball of the innings, but Mykylo Bird and Ball took the hosts to 84 before Bird was bowled by Wharton for 36.

On 86, Ball chipped the ball to Rich Krupiak, who took a good diving catch off Andrew Bailey to send the batsman back to the shed for 25. Wharton struck again on 111 when Dave Wood was also caught by Krupiak for a single. Wharton’s third came on 149 when Myles Hayhurst was caught by Scott for 15.

Skipper Young was batting well and was inching towards his fifty when Luke Rowley bowled him for 41 with 158 on the board and, when Jacob Connors was bowled by Scott for 4 on the same score, the Millers were in sight of a 27 pointer to start the season.

Unfortunately, some poor bowling later on gifted Ockbrook the draw as Dan Wood (14 not out) and Burrow (5 not out) saw the hosts easily to safety. The feature of the Millers bowling was a whopping 43 wides in a total of 52 extras, which needs to be addressed before the season is much older.

For the Millers, Wharton’s figures were 3 for 61 and Scott returned 2 for 33. There was a wicket apiece for the spinners Rowley and Bailey.

Seconds on top

Langley Mill Utd (19pts) 216-8 [46 overs] (N Wing 47, A Ball 69, G Farnsworth 3-43, A Bailey 3-36) drew with Shipley Hall (9pts) 151-8 [46 overs] (A Bowley 42, R Davey 4-31)

Langley Mill’s second eleven got the better of Shipley Hall’s second team to record a winning draw at Station Road.

Batting first, the Millers reached a total of 216 for 8 from their 46 overs, thanks to 59 from Andrew Ball and 47 from opener Neil Wing. Three youngsters also shone with the bat, Alex Bacon hitting 24 and Lewis Pinder and Jordan Fredrickson both scored an unbeaten 23 batting lower down the order.

For Shipley, Andrew Bowley was the pick with 3 for 36 and Graham Farnsworth also bagged three, at a cost of 43. Rich Siddons took the other wicket to fall.

Shipley were always behind the asking rate, despite 42 from Bowley and 27 from opener David Robinson. Dale O’Keefe chipped in with 23 late on, but the visitors finished 65 short of the Millers total with only two wickets remaining.

For Langley Mill, Rich Davey picked up 4 for 31 and Steve Walker 2 for 32. Jay Holmes and Ryan Cox each took a wicket apiece.