Such worthy champions

Cromford Meadows (1pt) 83 all out [24.4 overs] (L Martin 41, S Walker 4-36) lost to Langley Mill Utd (22pts) 84-3 [12 overs] by 7 wickets

LANGLEY Mill’s second team picked up the necessary points needed to become Division 6 North champions with an effortless victory over 9-man Cromford Meadows on Saturday. Despite travelling with only ten men, the Millers were never in trouble as they beat their hosts by seven wickets.

Batting first, Meadows slumped to 83 all out thanks to Steve Walker whose excellent 12 over spell returned figures of 4 for 37. Alex Bacon picked up a couple for 38 runs and skipper Rich Davey bowled his usual economical spell picking up 1 for 8 from his 7 overs.

Cromford skipper Liam Martin top scored with 41 with only Danny Wilson (13) and Michael Wray (12) into double figures as well.

Langley Mill wasted no time knocking off the runs as heavy rain threatened to wipe out the game. Rich Krupiak hit 36 and Walker 20 not out as the Millers reached their target in only the 12th over.

Langley Mill Utd (5pts) 89 all out [42.1 overs] (A Taylor 7-11) lost to Sandiacre Town (27pts) 151 all out [45.1 overs] (J Murfin 74, A Bacon 5-42, R Cox 3-16) by 62 runs

In the final game of the season, the Millers seconds lost their unbeaten record but are promoted to division five after a memorable campaign.

Sandiacre Town scored 151 all out with John Murfin top scoring with 74. Paul Chambers contributed 24 and Paul Standring 19 with Adrian Taylor the only other batsman to reach double figures on 11.

Alex Bacon (5 for 42) and Ryan Cox (3 for 16) bowled well for the Millers while Rich Davey and Steve Walker picked up a wicket apiece.

Langley Mill never got close to the Sandiacre total thanks to a remarkable spell of bowling from Anthony Taylor, his 14 over spell returning figures of 7 for 11. Only Steve Walker (26), Nick Wright (16) and Oliver Blake (13) reached double figures as the Millers slumped to 89 all out with four overs remaining.

Sandiacre finished second in the table, 16 points behind the Millers, place in Division 5 next season.