Shock Jaxx Club result

THERE were cracking wins this week in the Darley Dale and District Snooker League for two teams who have thus far been occupying the lower reaches of B Division.

Firstly, in the battle of the Jaxx Q Club outfits, it was the No 2 contingent who shocked their table topping No 1 rivals with a 3-2 triumph.

Andy Hayes was again the star performer on the night with a 31 break as he and John Williams won both their singles and doubles matches to decide the issue.

And PJ’z No 2 team from Ripley gained their second win of the season courtesy of a fine 4-1 home success over Belper Strutt Club No 2 with Karl Whiteman and Trevor Hames winning both frames they contested.

Meanwhile, Matlock Golf Club re-assumed control at the top after defeating Bolehill Institute No 3 4-1.

Chris Parker’s contribution of 43 now leads the section’s highest break prize.

In A Division, leaders PJ’z No 1 eked out another 3-2 verdict, this time at Bolehill No 2 where Keith Robertson’s victory over Andrew Gratton leaves the pair locked together in the battle for the most wins. Ben Monk had to pot pink and black in the doubles to get his team over the line.

Bolehill No 1 closed the gap to three points after an excellent 5-0 win at Belper Strutt Club No 1 with Ricki Slack scoring 95pts for the second successive week.

Matlock’s Edgefold Club are the same difference away in third place after a 4-1 win at Matlock Club.

A black ball victory from Duncan Harwood with the scores at 1-1 set the tone for the rest of the match.

In the first of the Hartshorne Cup two-man team semi finals, Jaxx Q Club’s Paul Ogden and Steve Robinson beat Bolehill’s Andrew Brough and Guy Shirley 3-2.

League week 12 results: Belper Strutt No 1 0, Bolehill Inst No 1 5; Bolehill Inst No 2 2, PJ’z Ripley No 1 3; Matlock Club 1, Edgefold Matlock 4; PJ’z Ripley No 2 4, Belper Strutt No 2 1; Jaxx Q Belper No 1 2, Jaxx Q Belper No 2 3; Matlock Golf Club 4, Bolehill Inst No 1 1.

Breaks: C Parker 43; S Bullock 35; B Monk 32,25,22,20; A Hayes 31; A Gratton 27; I McKay 27; S Robinson 26; R Slack 23; D Needham 22; S O’Sullivan 22; R Muxlow 21; A Fisher 21.