Shock defeat for the top seeds Marehay MW

Number four seeds Edgefold Club of Matlock shocked top seeds Marehay Miners Welfare with a 3-2 success in the opening round of matches in the Champion of Champions play offs for the prestigious Jaeger Trophy.

Marehay, with home advantage due to finishing top of the table in the regular Darley Dale and District Snooker League season, edged the opener with Ben Monk delivering a black ball verdict over Richard Ferguson.

But the visitors hit back with three frames without reply to secure home advantage in the next stages.

Firstly Duncan Harwood equalised with a win over Andrew Gratton before Rob Muxlow and Neil Parkinson sealed the deal.

Not to be deterred, Ben Monk notched a fine 53 break in the concluding doubles frame but not enough to stop the holders from bowing out.

The other A Division play off saw Bolehill Institute No 1 defeat Matlock Golf Club 4-1 with Ricki Slack and Ian Birks joint top scoring.

The B Division top seeds Belper Strutt Club No 1 also came through 4-1 over Bolehill Institute No 2.

Paul Jarrett’s black ball win over Ian Peacock in the second frame was supplemented by successes from Mark Newby and Steve Bullock whilst Keith Robertson was on the mark for the away team.

Jaeger Trophy Champion of Champions 1st round results: Marehay MW / PJ’z 2, Edgefold Matlock 3; Bolehill Inst No 1 4, Matlock Golf Club 1; Belper Strutt No 1 4, Bolehill Inst No 1.

Breaks: B Monk 53; C Parker 24.