Derbyshire Sports Awards

SOME of the county’s best and brightest sporting stars, coaches and volunteers will find out next Friday if they have won a prestigious prize at the 2011 Derbyshire Sports Awards, sponsored by the University of Derby.

Ecclesbourne School pupils Hannah Jones and Robert Abraham will be vying for the Derby City Council Junior Sportswoman of the Year award and Origination Junior Disabled Sportsperson of the Year award respectively.

Snooker player Hannah Jones became the World Ladies Junior Champion for a fourth consecutive year earlier this year, and British Open Junior Champion for a third time.

Robert Abraham won several medals at the DSE National Junior and Youth Swimming Championships, and two medals at the Nationwide Junior Athletics Championships.

Winners will be announced in 12 categories during an awards ceremony at The Roundhouse in Derby on November 11.

Full details of the nominees in all 12 categories are below.

District awards ceremonies have been held across the county to determine the finalists that have gone through to the Derbyshire Sports Awards.

The University of Derby is the title sponsor of the event, and other sponsors include the Derby Telegraph, Derby City Council, Origination, Derbyshire 2012, Derbyshire County Council, Cooper Parry, International Golf Development, Active Derbyshire and Derby College.

Ollie Shearer, Sports Development Manager at the University, said: “The University is committed to nurturing talent and we look forward to celebrating the achievements of the county’s talented sports stars and hard-working coaches and volunteers at the Derbyshire Sports Awards again this year.

“Sporting excellence, achievement and the benefits of sport to health are high on the University’s agenda, and we are working hard to increase the number of students taking part in sport, improve performance and increase opportunities for all.”

University Vice-Chancellor Professor John Coyne, said: “The Derbyshire Sports Awards are a great way to showcase some of the great work that is happening in sport across the county and inspire others to get involved.”

Event organisers Derbyshire Sport resurrected the awards in 2006 in recognition of the importance of paying tribute to the wealth of sporting talent in the county.

Cllr Carol Hart, Chair of Derbyshire Sport, said: “There is some tremendous sporting talent in Derbyshire and it is great to be able to recognise some of the county’s best performers in this way and congratulate them on their achievements and their hard work in training and competing.

“My congratulations go to everyone who has made it this far in the awards process and to all the winners and nominees at district level. I wish all the finalists the very best of luck.”

Winners of the Derbyshire Sports Awards could go through to the BBC East Midlands Sports Awards and even to the BBC Sports Personality of the Year Awards.

Details of all the finalists are available on the Derbyshire Sport website

The full list of finalists is:

University of Derby Sportsperson of the Year

Anya Colley (Erewash – Jet-Skiing)

Annie Last (Derbyshire Dales – Cross Country Mountain Biking)

Liam Pitchford (Chesterfield/NE Derbyshire – Table Tennis)

University of Derby Disabled Sportsperson of the Year

Jon Hall (Bolsover - Wheelchair Basketball)

Maddie Thompson (High Peak - Wheelchair Basketball)

International Golf Development Junior Sportsman of the Year

Mason Bennett (Bolsover – Football)

Jack Griffiths (Bolsover – Kickboxing)

Derby City Council Junior Sportswoman of the Year

Hannah Jones (Amber Valley – Snooker)

Molly Renshaw (Amber Valley – Swimming)

Origination Junior Disabled Sportsperson of the Year

Robert Abraham (Erewash – Swimming and athletics)

Ellie Bamber (High Peak – Swimming and boccia)

Cooper Parry Club of the Year

Merlin ABC (Derby – Boxing)

Shirebrook Rangers FC (Bolsover – Football)

Derby College Coach of the Year

Kevin Brown (South Derbyshire – Rugby)

Dave Cartawick (Chesterfield/NE Derbyshire – Kickboxing)

Phil Vickers (Erewash – Table Tennis)

Derbyshire County Council Young Sports Leader/Young Coach of the Year

Poppy Marriott (Chesterfield/NE Derbyshire – Various Sports)

Laurisa Robson (Bolsover – Football)

Derby Telegraph Service to Sport Award

Daryl Hone (Chesterfield/NE Derbyshire – Table Tennis)

Gillian Lockwood (Derbyshire Dales – Various Sports)

Derbyshire 2012 Sport Sponsorship Award

Betfair Ltd

Burton and South Derbyshire College

Derbyshire Building Society

Active Derbyshire Active Workplace Award

Cooper Parry

South Derbyshire District Council

University of Derby