Marehay take the title to win the league and cup double

Alfreton v Marehay. Gareth Buckley bowling for Marehay.
Alfreton v Marehay. Gareth Buckley bowling for Marehay.

Marehay CC 1sts have gone up to the Derbyshire Cricket Premier League as champions after seeing off the challenge of Alfreton to lift the Division One title.

This, along with the Marston’s Smooth Trophy, means skipper Richard Wood’s side have secured the league and cup double.

On Saturday, they travelled to take on their nearest challengers in a game that was ultimately ended prematurely by the weather.

Alfreton made 227-8 as Matt Lineker top scored with 65 and Gaz Buckley took 5-71.

In reply, Marehay had reached 199-7 before the rain came with Matthew Doric making 59.

On Sunday, the final game of the season saw Marehay travel to take on on Ambergate, fighting for their lives at the wrong end of the table.

The bowling unit was collectively good form after Ambergate won the toss, batted and were dismissedfor 135.

Matthew Doric, James Kyte and Richard Wood all took two wickets apiece and Dean Mills recorded fine figures of 4-33 from ten overs.

Marehay didn’t have it all their own way when they batted as they lost five wickets on their way to scoring 138 and winning both the game and the league title.

Daniel Palmer and Jonathand Bradder made 21 each, Tom Burke 22 not out, and Matthew Doric was the top scorer with a knock of 36 to complete a fine season.