Langley Mill promoted to Division One after beating Wirksworth

Andrew Bailey, Langley Mill CC
Andrew Bailey, Langley Mill CC

Langley Mill have been promoted to Division One of the Derbyshire County Cricket League after beating Wirksworth.

The Millers travelled to Wirksworth knowing they needed 15 points to seal promotion.

Lewis Pinder and Paul bailey opened up and reached 38 without loss after eight overs.

Lewis Pidner then had a rush of blood to the head and skied one off Harry Wanfords bowling for 24, but Paul Bailey remained patient at the other end.

Jamie Salmons joined Paul Bailey and the pair looked set, despatching anything loose.

Then suddenly Wirksworth roared back with a few quick wickets.

Firstly Jamie Salmons, falling LBW to Ben Perry Taylor for 27, and then Sajendra Thimal fallling to Jack Allen.

Scoring then slowed down as the Millers found it hard to get the Wirksworth spinner away.

After 30 overs the Millers had reached 125 for 4 with Paul Bailey falling for a well constructed 47.

The Millers then had a late flurry with Danny Hanson (20), Aaron Tullett (25) and Jay Holmes (25*) helping push the Millers past 200 and gaining fivce points.

Langley Mill ended on 202 for 9 off their 46 overs. For Wirksworth Ben Perry Taylor took 5 for 44.

In reply Wirksworth found it hard going scoring runs and, after 10 overs, slipped to 27 for 2 with Jack Scott and Scott Parkin picking up the wickets.

At the halfway point Wirksworth were 53 for 3 after the introduction of Simon Lacey.

After this the Millers knew they needed to be patient and not lose the game. S

pin twins Andrew Bailey and Simon Lacey ensured that the Millers romped home as they picked up four wickets each.

Young Matt Woolley (17) offered the main resistance, but after this the game was in the Millers hands as they put a stranglehold on the game and took 27 points to send them second and up into Division One for next season with champions Nutbrook.

For Langley Mill Andrew Bailey picked up 4 for 29 and Simon Lacey 4 for 28.