Stan Brewster Memorial Tournament latest

The latest games in the seventh annual Stan Brewster Memorial football tournament produced some telling results, particularly in group two.

On Tuesday evening (July 10), in the final group one games, Crib Bar cemented their place as league leaders and a place in the semi-finals with a 6-1 thrashing of Codnor Miners for whom Russ Sharp scored.

For the Crib, Matt Brittle, Dan Riley, Chris Green, Matt Phillips, Nick Hall and Joe Sparham were on target.

Codnor finished runners-up in the group and will play the group two winners in the semi’s on Sunday.

The other game in the group saw Ripley Town record a 2-0 win over Newton FC, Liam Brown netting both Ripley goals.

In group two action on Sunday, Ambergate went down to a 3-1 defeat against Holbrook St Michaels for whom Chris Saunders, Lewis Whiting and Tarik Harvey scored. Sam Hickling got the Ambergate reply.

Meanwhile, South Normanton Reserves pulled off a fantastic 4-1 win over Swanwick Pentrich Road despite playing all of the first half with only nine players and only ten men in the second half.

The goals for South Normanton came from Ash Griffiths who hit a brace and singles from Tom Fletcher and Daniel Henshaw. Guy Wilding got the Swanwick reply.

Last Thursday evening in group one, Codnor Miners hammered Newton FC 5-1.

The Codnor goals came from Matt Guilor, two from Russ Sharp and singles from Tom Hawkins and Kevin France.

Marc Owen got the Newton goal.

The other game saw Ripley Town fall to a 4-2 local derby defeat against Ripley-based Crib Bar.

Adam Hassell got both Ripley Town goals with the Crib’s coming from Cory Bowler, Matt Brittle, Sam Blount and Chris Green.

This Thursday (July 12), the final group two games are being played at Charles Hill, Loscoe, between Swanwick Pentrich Road v Ambergate and South Normanton v Holbrook St Michaels.

The semi-finals are on Sunday, again at Charles Hill Loscoe, with the winner of group one taking on the runner-up in group two and the runner-up in group one taking on the winner from group two.

Both games kick-off at 2pm.

The final will be played at Alfreton Town’s Impact Arena ground on Sunday, July 22 with a 2pm kick-off.