Six of the best for the Shiners

South Normanton Athletic kept up their unbeaten start to the Central Midlands Football League Black Dragon Division South season with a thumping 6-0 win over visitors Calverton MW on Saturday.

The Exchem Arena was always going to be a tough place to play for the bottom of the league Calverton, and within the first minute Calverton went 1-0 down thanks to a Tommy Leighton strike.

Shane Keenan then popped up with the second on 11 minutes.

Then the Normanton new keeper Scott Whittingham pulled off a great save on 19 minutes to spare the Shiners’ blushes.

A minute later amd Calverton’s no 11, Callum Kitchen, scored a own goal to make it 3-0 to Normanton.

The pressure was mounting on the team currently propping up the league but that’s how the scoreline stood at the break with no further goals added.

The second half was a mirror of the first with Danny Roberts scoring early to make it 4-0.

Ben Greenhaige made it 5-0 on 55 minutes for South Normanton Athletic, then Rob Fretwell stunned Calverton on 70 minutes with great feet and a fine strike from 18 yards out to send his shot into the bottom left corner of the net, leaving the keeper with very little chance of pulling off a save.

All of the Shiners’ goals were classy efforts and it could have been a lot more in the margin of victory.

Doubly pleasing was the fact that this was a clean sheet for the new Shiners’ keeper, Scott Whittingham and the fourth shutout so far this season for the home club.

In addition, South Normanton have not lost this season after ten games of the campaign and so they must look to take this form into a massive November, which could have a major bearing on how the rest of the season pans out.

This Saturday, the Shiners are at the Poppyfields to play against Mickleover RBL. The match kicks off at 2pm.

South Normanton team: Whittingham, S Carter (O’Grady 45), Keenan, Garton, J Carter (c), O’Rielly, Roberts, Leighton, Mottershead (Phillips 55), Newton (Fretwell 60) Greenhaigh,             

Subs not used: Chris Green, Brendon McKenna

MOTM: Thomas Leighton