Eight-goal Town Reserves sting the Wasps in the county cup

SOME of the league’s clubs saw Derbyshire Cup action and Chesterfield Town Reserved booked their place in the next round by destroying Winster Wasp 8-1.

A hat-trick from Slater was added to by a brace from Walters and singles from J Dixon, Marsh and Gensmantel ensured this fantastic young side have a real shot of lifting the Derbyshire Cup holy grail this season.

The only other game to survive the great British weather in the county cup was Riddings Rovers who showed plenty of grit to end Chellaston’s chances of progressing with a convincing 4-0 win.

League action saw first division side Shirland MW climb to the top of the table after a 5-2 win over last year’s Derbyshire Cup winners All Inn FC.

Goals from Shaun Archbold, Paul Holmes, Jamie Morgan, Guy Taylor and Steve Wright.

All Inn’s replies came from Danny Brown and Ryan Varley.

In division two, the only game to be played saw Codnor Miners and promotion rivals Matlock Sports engaged in a match that could become pivotal come the end of the season.

Matlock took the lead midway through the first half and doubled their tally on the 30 minute mark with the away side looking increasingly dangerous with every attack.

The second half saw a different Codnor side and after they pulled one back from the penalty spot when Tom Hawkins scored on 55 minutes, they sensed a come-back was on the cards.

After some fantastic play and only five minutes later it was 2-2 with a Scott Sisson goal.

The game was eventually won with 15 minutes left on the clock as Hawkins netted his second goal and second penalty of the match, his fifth spot-kick success in only two games!

Fixtures for Saturday,

December 17

Hellisons Trophies League One - Shirland MW v Chesterfield Town.

Solar Press League Two - Chesterfield Town Reserves v Tansley; Black Hippo v AFC Lea Holloway; AFC South Wingfield v Codnor Miners.

Matlock Cup - Hurst Farm United v Matlock Sports.

Derbyshire Cup - Laburnum v Miners Arms (Alfreton); Darley Dale v Hopflower; Wirksworth Albion v Woodthorpe Rovers.