Awards night for Rhinos

RIPLEY Rhinos held an enjoyable end of season celebration at Santos, Higham Farm.

The club were celebrating the first silverware the men had won in 15 season’s after defeating Tupton 2nds 55-22 in April to win the Derbyshire President’s Trophy.

They were delighted to receive the Tigger Price Memorial Plaque from outgoing Derbyshire President Steve Allford, awarded to the club he felt had done the most to represent the spirit of rugby within Derbyshire in the season.

Scrum half Mitch Wilmott took the Men’s 1st XV player award, a fitting tribute to the only ever-present in the side and the leading try scorer.

Centre Anton Brown took the same award for the second XV and prop Liz Trubee won the Women’s Ladies player of the season.

The awards from the whole club were also handed out and fly half Matt Upton, man of the match at the Cup Final, took the Men’s first XV Club Player of the season. Anton Brown again took the honours for the second XV, in recognition of his power displays during the season and in finishing joint leading try scorer for the seconds.

Liz Trubee also followed suit winning the similar award in recognition of her displays for the side throughout a difficult campaign.

The award for Clubperson of the year went to Dave Trubee whilst centre Tim Smith took the Men’s Most Improved Player trophy and winger Jade Sheldon the same award for the Ladies.

Finally prop Dave Cleland won the Rhino Spirit of Rugby award for his hard work for all the teams across the season.