Vote in Derbyshire’s Blue Plaque scheme

The 12-strong shortlist in the next round of Derbyshire County Council blue plaques has been revealed.

Now it is down to the public to decide who should get a blue plaque by voting for their favourite. There are six blue plaques up for grabs in the latest round of Derbyshire County Council honours.

Judges drew up the shortlist following nominations from local people. Voting is now under way and voters are invited to choose from the following:

* Sweet maker George Bassett, Chesterfield;

* Lace maker Frances Bush, Long Eaton;

* Cromford Canal;

* Reputed inventor of the Bakewell Pudding Ann Greaves;

* War hero Frederick Greaves, Killamarsh;

* Flying Scotsman designer Nigel Gresley, Netherseal;

* Athlete Tom Hulatt, Tibshelf;

* Razor blade magnate and philanthropist George Herbert Lawrence, Hathersage;

* Crimean nurse Florence Nightingale, Lea;

* Spy master Maurice Oldfield, Over Haddon/Bakewell;

* Racing driver Reg Parnell, Findern;

* Mill owner and benefactor George Herbert Strutt, Belper.

Derbyshire County Council leader and cabinet member for culture Councillor Andrew Lewer revealed the shortlisty. He thanked the public for their nominations, saying: “This is a fascinating list of Derbyshire’s great and good.

“It is incredibly varied and includes some of the county’s best-known as well as lesser known people and places.

“The public has really done us proud by suggesting such a wide variety to choose from.”

Voting can be done online or by using a voting form printed in the county council’s newspaper Derbyshire First. This can be handed in to your local Derbyshire County Council library or Buxton Museum and Art Gallery. Forms can also be sent in by post to Blue Plaques Vote, Derbyshire County Council, County Hall, Matlock DE4 3AG.

The closing date for votes is Friday, November 16. To vote online go to