Round up of borough’s election hopefuls for 2012

Ballot box
Ballot box

THE STARTING gun has sounded for the Amber Valley Borough Council 2012 election hopefuls.

Residents in 15 out of the Conservative controlled borough’s 45 wards are set to go to the polls on May 3.

Conservative Mayor of Amber Valley Ron Ashton will seek to defend his Ripley and Marehay seat against Labour candidate Mick Wilson; Michael Bedford for Liberal Democrats and Alan Edwards for the British National Party (BNP).

The deputy mayor Jack Brown will face Lib Dem candidate Ollie Smith and Labour’s Roy Walker in the Ironville and Riddings Ward.

The Ripley ward will be contested by sitting David Bowley, Conservative; Paul Gibbons, Lib Dem, and Tony Holmes, for Labour.

Sitting Labour candidate Alan Longdon will go up against Conservative newcomer Ella Mcmanus and the BNP’s Ken Cooper for the Heanor and Loscoe seat.

The BNP will attempt to retain both of its seats in Heanor this year.

Sitting Adrian Hickman will go up against Richard Iliffe, Conservative, and Labour’s Bob Janes for the Heanor West Ward. And sitting BNP candidate Cliff Roper will face Keith Falconbridge, Lib Dem; Phil Hill, Labour, and Gary Wells, Conservative, in the Heanor East Ward.

Conservative councillor Terry Thorpe will defend his Langley Mill and Aldercar seat against Brian Gration, Labour, and Timothy Knowles, of the National Front. In Alfreton, Labour’s Marlene Bennett will defend her seat against Lib Dem’s Peter Jelf and Conservative Kat Moss.

Chris Emmas-Williams will face UKIP’s Ann Fox, Conservative Robert Phillips-Forsyth and BNP’s Emma Roper.

In Somercotes Labour seat holder John McCabe will go against Paul Bailey, UKIP; Joel Hunt, Lib Dem and Conservative Ian Smith.

Vying for the Heage and Ambergate are Jack Williams, Independent; David Farrelly, Labour; Rodney Tomkins, Lib Dem, and current seat holder Angela Ward for Conservative.

Candidates for the Kilburn, Denby and Holbrook Ward are John Banks, Labour; Kevin Buttery, Conservative; Matthew Cruickshank, Labour; Margaret Tomkins for Lib Dem and the Ward’s current Conservative councillor Norman Bull. For the Shipley Park, Horsley and Horsley Woodhouse Ward the candidates are Ian Holden, Labour; Kate Smith, Lib Dem and the current seat holder Alex Stevenson, Conservative.