Ripley pupils rewarded at prize-giving night

editorial image

Students, parents and teachers came together on a night of celebration to mark the annual Ripley Academy Awards.

The event is held to highlight the achievements of the academy, with pupils from years seven through to 13 receiving prizes for excellence in academic subjects.

In addition, a number of special awards were handed out to students to recognise that they went the extra mile or succeeded despite adversity.

The Ripley Academy Special Recognition Award went to year 11 pupil, Logan Greenhalgh, who missed nearly two years of education due to ill health.

On his return Logan, 15, undertook a specially 
created package of qualifications to suit his learning needs, including an angling qualification with an organisation called Youfish. He now uses his skills to pass on to primary school pupils as part of voluntary work he carries out.

Joe Robson was awarded the Service to the School and Community Shield, presented by the Ripley Rotary Club.

Joe, who left last year, ran the live action role play club and was one of the key organisers of the academy’s successful Zombie Apocalypse fundraising event.

Cory Howard was given the Caroline Axup Silent Star Award. Cory experienced serious health problems but always came to school with a “positive attitude and smile on his face.”

The Contribution to the Community Shield went to Ryan Knighton. The current Year 13 pupil is an assistant Cub Scout leader for the First Open Woodgate Scouts, supporting the group through organising trips and camps. Ryan is also part of the Derbyshire Scouting media team generating photos and articles and is on the organisation’s Youth Council. He also gives up his free time to take photographs at academy events.

Molly Stone and Shannon Glenton won the Ripley Academy Sporting Contribution Award and Thirza Calladine won the Principal’s Commendation Award. Molly Stone also won an award for service to the school and community.

Thomas Spray picked up the Peter Harrison Music Awards and Scott Sloan took home The Ripley Academy Resilience Award.

Principal of The Ripley Academy, Carey Ayres, said: “The awards are a fantastic way to celebrate the achievement of our students throughout the academy.

“It always makes me so proud to recognise the work of our students and I can honestly say it’s one of the favourite parts of my job.”

Chair of Governors, Margaret Powis, welcomed students and congratulated them on their achievements.