Our community heroes awarded

Eastwood Mayor Making New Mayor Brian Griffin receives his chain of office from Ken Woodhead.
Eastwood Mayor Making New Mayor Brian Griffin receives his chain of office from Ken Woodhead.

COMMUNITY heroes were given awards by the Mayor of Eastwood this week.

People were recognised and awarded for their contributions and fundraising in the community, and the time they selflessly give to help others.

Cllr Ken Woodhead presented nine awards altogether.

Peter Butler was recognised for his work as a town and borough councillor, being governor at two local schools and helping out at three community organisations, Doug Wilcockson was awarded for being town and borough councillor for 12 years and governor at two local schools, Miles Murphy, the landlord of the Wellington Inn, was awarded for being chair of Eastwood and Kimberley Pubwatch for several years and Brenda Beasley for spending 30 years committed to Eastwood Baptist Church and the mother and toddler group.

Peggy Croson was awarded for the work she does teaching music to children with learning difficulties, charity champion Angela Smith was awarded for raising money for various causes and Hazel Braithwaite was told her dedication to her role as an Eastwood town councillor was ‘legendary’. She was town councillor for 32 years, Mayor of Eastwood 18 times and serves on many community groups.

Margaret Panter was recognised for her volunteer work at the church and her work with a homeless group and Eastwood Volunteer Bureau, and the students from Eastwood Comprehensive School picked up an award for the Support Action for Eastwood shop in Nottingham Road.

The SAFE shop houses the only remaining adult education courses in the town and showcases work done by pupils at the comprehensive school.

Moments after the awards presented, Cllr Woodhead handed his mayoral chain over to Cllr Brian Griffin, this year’s new town Mayor.

In a speech Cllr Griffin said it was ‘an honour’ to be the town’s new Mayor.

“It’s not only an honour to become the town Mayor, but a duty to Eastwood and its people,” he said.

Cllr Griffin vowed to turn things around and get the council working better together.

“I will make great efforts to make sure we work together and the people of Eastwood will always come first in this council because after all, these councillors that sit here were elected by the people.

“I look forward to a year where by the end of it we will have brought back what we once had – a quality council.”

The Deputy Mayor is now Hazel Charlesworth and the leader of the council is Cllr David Bagshaw.

The leader of the Lib Dem group is now Cllr Josie Forrest.